Christchurch New Zealand September 4th 2010 Part 3

EQ Notice ChChBy now my need was a lot more urgent. Would I make it on time……………………….

Absolutely I would. With all the chaos and clattering around me I was determined I would at least use the porcelain bowl now, even if it was to be my last comfort stop for a while. So, I did. After negotiating myself to the kitchen pantry – and reaching across the fallen fragments on the floor – for a plastic bag that would hold the debris, I gingerly ladeled out as much as I could from the bowl with my hands. Yuk.

With that sorted I felt a little more comfortable but still very much in a daze.

Going back to bed wasn’t an option and as the lurching and shaking and crashing continued I decided the safest place would be under my large, solid dining room table. There was plenty of room under there so I proceeded to construct a cubby for myself, Bart and Angus. We would ride it out here safely. Between the jolts I grabbed what I could to make us comfortable. My duvet, a pile of pillows and my water bottle.

It was so quiet and still apart from the low rumbles announcing the arrival of more shaking. I tried to measure how far apart they were, reminding me of contractions during labour. They were about a 10min apart! How long was this labour going to take?! The next one would rumble through, and then another, consistenlty.

Now comfortable, perched on a pile of pillows and comforted by the duvet, with my trusty bottle of water,

and knowing Bart and Angus were safely snuggled up with me I  began to

ponder on my situation and that of the wider community, the neighbours, Christchurch, and Ted, my boarder. I hadn’t seen him at all yet throughout this drama……………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Leave a Reply

